Nahargharh Fort is situated on the ridge of Aravali. It looks most classy when floodlit at night. It was built in 1734 and extended in 1868. Nahargharh meaning abode of the tigers was built by Sawai Jai Singh to bolster the defence of Amber (Amber Fort). The fort overlooks the city and presents a glittering view of the city lights.
Nahargarh Fort is associated with several legends. Nahargarh offers exquisite vistas of the Man Sagar that boasts of a lovely duck blind right in its midst. The fort served as a rest retreat for royal guests and dignitaries who were invited to join the maharaja for duck shoots.The legend also have it that it was named Nahargharh after Nahar Singh whose spirit would destroy the construction of Nahargharh. So after a prayer to the spirit it agreed to leave on condition that the fort is named after him. Durg Cafeteria just above the entrance sells meals and refreshments, while Padao Restaurant on the west sells drinks around sunset.
The Nahargarh Fort was used as a retreat for the ladies of the royal household. In fact the Zenana deorhi or women's quarters at the Nahargarh Fort were built to impress. The royal quarters designed for women sprawls over the fourth courtyard. Known as the Madhavendra Bhawan the zenana was specially built by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singhji.
In all there are 12 palatial quarters replete with interlinked corridors, kitchens and hearths at the Nahargarh zenana - each a glorious depiction of Rajputana art and taste for luxury. The Madhavendra Bhawan, built by Sawai Ram Singh II has uniquely a cluster of 12 identical suits for queens and at the head is a suit for the king himself. The rooms are linked by corridors and retain some delicate frescos as well as toilets and kitchen hearths. It was used by members of the royal family for excursion in summers and is now even a favoured picnic spot.